GOING TO THE OFFICE

I retired from a 34 year teaching career last June and have been working to establish a schedule for writing. I’m amazed at what will interrupt, or postpone, my writing. I’m also amazed that I let it.

We all have distractions that take our attention away from where we know it should be. Since my husband is an OTR (over-the-road) driver, I am generally home alone. Generally, because the cat and the dogs do demand my attention.

the pets

So, now, I pack my office into a backpack and take off for one of my office spaces. I even tell Pepper and Nutmeg that Mommy is going to work and will be back soon. My mood and the day determine which office, if any, I will head to.

OFFICE 1

OFFICE 1

Office 1 is in the back of a small community library. There is a long counter that overlooks the back yard. This library is the quiet one and in the back there isn’t much activity.

OFFICE 2

OFFICE 2

Office 2 is also a library, but it is located on the main street of the nearby city. The tables are near the front of the library and overlook part of the parking lot or the library itself. Being in the front, there are numerous distractions, but also the ability to people watch.

OFFICE 3

the desk

Office 3 is what I call the “Studio.” It was my oldest son’s bedroom until he moved out on his own, but now it contains my grandfather’s office desk, shelves of books, and files of my manuscripts.

OFFICE 4 & 5 & 6

Since the advent of laptops and tablets, I am not confined these days to a desk so I often sit at the kitchen table, the dining room table, or even on the couch in the living room.

Leave a Reply

