WRITING DURING A MAJOR LIFE CHANGE

Psychologists warn about stress and depression during a major life change. My last two years have been riddled with major life changes: my mother passed away, I retired from a 34 year teaching career, but the most recent change was my move from northern Illinois to middle Tennessee.

My writing has suffered.

Not only did my mother’s death depress me (She was my best friend.), but it added tasks to my already full plate. See, I was an only child and the executor of the will. My mother had still been living in the two story home from her childhood, but the house was more than two stories – it also had a full walk-up attic, a full exposed basement, a one car garage attached to the basement, and a two-plus car garage at street level.

As my husband and I discussed the stress at work, I found myself agreeing that I should retire at the end of the year.

Then, as my teacher evaluation rolled around that fall, I found myself an administrative target. My principal had decided to label me as a “needs improvement” teacher BECAUSE I had not participated in any of the summer professional development classes. I tried to explain that I had been my mother’s primary caretaker and medical coordinator, but it made no difference to her.

When winter in northern Illinois set in, Mother Nature decided that we should have record setting snow accumulation, and I found myself trying to clear the snow at both my mother’s place and mine.

By the time I could sit down at the table and write, I was exhausted.

So, my writing suffered.

As the school year drew to a close, I started thinking about writing. However, the opportunity didn’t manifest itself because my husband and I started a one driver trucking company with him driving and me doing the books.

When the business seemed to be moving along, I finally did the teacher’s summer crash and burn. I had two summers and a school year to catch up with. I would sit and veg for hours on end.

Just when I thought things would simplify and my motivation was coming back, we found ourselves relocating to middle Tennessee.

My writing studio in Tennessee has a peaceful, yet motivational feel.

So, now – back to writing. I think I’m ready.

One thought on “WRITING DURING A MAJOR LIFE CHANGE”

  1. Glad you are back ❤ Blessings for all you have had to carry. I know all too well how live can get in the way of things you love to do. I'll be reading and would love for you to read my blog. I haven't in awhile, someone said it was boring and no one reads it anyways. So I have let that get in my head. My husband is an artist, you should go check out the link I put up. He's selling on Handmade at Amazon. Again, blessings ❤

Leave a Reply

