Z TO H – DAY 1: Why am I here?

So, it begins again. A Blogging 101 course. Zero to Hero. Will I be a hero this time?

With the number of false starts I have made by taking this or any other on-line writing course, you might think I should just quit. But, “quit” is not a word in my vocabulary.

What makes me think this time will be different? SEVERAL THINGS!

  1. My husband said something to me recently that really made me think about this thing called writing. He asked me, “So, are you really serious about writing?” I told him yes, but then he asked. “It doesn’t seem like it. You don’t go and sit down and write like you used to.” That comment actually hurt, but it was so true.
  2. I have started calling myself a writer instead of a retired teacher. It seems to help. So, I am telling you “I AM A WRITER.”
  3. It is the beginning of a new year. 2016 is about the courage to do the scary and the courage to be true to the commitments I make and projects I start.
  4. I am working on paper AND on the computer. I am still old school enough to enjoy the feel of the pen gliding along the paper.

Today’s assignment asks bloggers to determine “who I am and why I’m here.”

I’ve written bio pages and who am I pages, and I like the bio on my “Welcome” static front page.

WHY AM I HERE

I took a long breath and printed out the four questions in the first day assignment email. Then, I stared at the blank space after each question for a while. Here’s what I discovered.

WHY ARE YOU BLOGGING PUBLICLY?

Good question. I was a teacher for 34 years. I taught in the English department at the high school level for 31 of those years. In that time, I watched the teaching of writing become more and more formulaic and repetitive. The students hated the writing, and I hated reading it – especially in the last couple of years when all the high school students in a specific grade level (We had five high schools.) would be given the same topic and the same resources in order to write to a specified prompt. Then, we (as teachers of that grade level) would gather in the basement of the district office to do two things: learn how we would all read and score each paper in the same way, AND read and score some 2,000 papers within the afternoon. (2,000 papers divided by never more than 10 teachers divided by never more than 3 hours = the hatred of reading and teaching writing, and a massive migraine.)

I have all but seen the creative aspect of writing be wrung out of the English/language arts curriculum so that the students are able to write for testing.

As a writer and writing teacher (creative writing included), I want to not only share my own work with the world and get feedback, but I want to help others become better writers.

WHAT TOPICS DO YOU THINK YOU’LL WRITE ABOUT?

I want to write about my struggles with writing and developing a writing habit as well as motivate writers to pick up the words and get them on paper. I want to present information on different genres of writing and what makes writing good.

I would like to post writing prompts that could motivate others to write, discuss grammar and writing, and anything else that comes to mind about writing.

WHO WOULD YOU LOVE TO CONNECT WITH VIA YOUR BLOG?

In posting a new poem and short, short story each month, I would love to connect with readers who like a wide variety of material.

With my “everyday” posts, I would like to connect with new and accomplished writers.

IF YOU BLOG SUCCESSFULLY, WHAT WOULD YOU HOPE TO HAVE ACCOMPLISHED?

  1. I would like to increase my following from the 30 followers I have now to at least 200.
  2. I would like to have readers return to my blog to read the newest poem and short, short story.
  3. I would like to have enough followers that would make creating a newsletter worthwhile.
  4. I would love to take the creative writing modules I developed when I was teaching high school and put them on-line and have them help people.

This is why I am here. This is what I want to accomplish in 2016. What do you think? Would this interest you? What would you add?

1 thought on “Z TO H – DAY 1: Why am I here?”

  1. I too am a writer but I don’t have nearly the requirements that you have…I just love, love, love to write. So that’s what I try to do. I hope you will go take a look at my blog and tell me what you think. Blessings ❤

Leave a Reply

