CONVERSATIONS OVER COFFEE – Sept. 26

As I sit here, I realize that it is no longer Monday morning anywhere in the world. Here in Middle Tennessee, it is already 8:00 pm and the two main presidential candidates are populating the television screen with the first debate.

If we were having coffee right now …I would NOT, however, talk about politics. You have your opinion, and I have mine. What I would ask of you is that you do your research on each of the candidates instead of listening to the prime time media hype and name-calling and candidate’s degrading each other. It’s a prime example of bullying; just what we don’t want our children to do.

If we were having coffee right now …I would ask you how your story or poem is shaping up. Are you ready to have a beta reader? Are you ready to query publishers, agents, and editors?

If we were having coffee right now …I would share with you that I have two end of October deadlines: one for a short story, and one for short stories and poetry. I’m going to be going back through my some of my prompt writing journals to find some ideas to develop into submit-able material. What? You don’t write to prompts? This is one of my best ways of stretching my creativity and thinking outside the box. There are several different sites and books out there to give you a prompt for the day. My favorite is Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group. She sends out the day’s prompts to your email.

If we were having coffee right now …I would ask you if you are going to participate in National Novel Writing Month in November. No? What have you got to lose? To me, NaNoWriMo is a motivator. It is a way to see if actually CAN pen 50,000 words in 30 days.

If we were having coffee right now …I would ask you if you would be interested in reading my stories and my poems. I am thinking about posting a new story for you to read each month and a new poem each month, or maybe every two weeks. What do you think? Would you read what I post?

One thought on “CONVERSATIONS OVER COFFEE – Sept. 26”

Leave a Reply

